The State of Kansas is also bearing the brunt of the nursing shortage crunch experienced throughout the country. It is not uncommon to find thousands of qualified candidates in the State being turned away in masses every semester as a result of an acute shortage of faculty.
In an effort to reduce the high number of students on the waiting lists for admission in training institutions, today most students in the State of Kansas are opting for online nursing programs, most of which are CCNE accredited (Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education). The programs also have the mandatory clinical components at strategic locations throughout the state.
Kansas CNA certification Basic Requirements
To get your certificate in CNA in Kansas, you will need to complete the mandatory coursework and clinical practice as stipulated by the training program. Further, you will need to apply for, and pass the Certified Nursing Assistant competency examination. After which, you will be required to submit your fingerprint card.
Once the examination results are out and after you have passed, you will then be conferred with your license to practice anywhere throughout the state, but only after a federal and state background check is done. With the license, you will be placed on the important Kansas Nurse Aide Registry, which will give you the right to work anywhere throughout the state of Kansas. Should you decide to transfer to another state, with your Kansas License in CNA, you may petition to be included in that State’s CNA’s registry without having to start the coursework all over again.
CNA Training characteristics in Kansas
As required by the federal law, a typical CNA training program in Kansas lasts circa 8-13 weeks, to give a student a minimum of 75 hours of thorough coursework, and over 100hours of hands-on training in a real-time clinical setting. Note that individual training institutions will often have in place special admission requirements, in addition to the basic State admission requirements, in order to start training.
As is with most states, license renewal takes place after every two years, and students will need to show proof of a minimum of 8 hours of employment within the past two years of your first licensure in order to qualify for the renewal, which is normally free of charge.
Basic Admission and certification requirements
- Proof of immunizations
- GED or high school diploma
- Two fingerprint cards
- Two passport size photos
- Photo ID
- Background check
- A negative Tuberculosis Test done within the past 6 months
List of CNA Classes in Kansas State:
Allied Health Career Training, LLC
800 E. 1st Street, Wichita, KS 67202
Phone: (316) 854-3892
Butler County Community College
131 North Haverhill Road, El Dorado, Kansas 67042
Phone: (316) 320-7375
Colby County Community College
1255 South Range Avenue, Colby, KS 67701
Phone: (785) 462-3984
Neosho County Community College
800 West 14th Street, Chanute, KS 66720
Phone: (620) 431-2820
Flint Hills Technical College
3301 West 18th Street, Emporia, KS 66801
Phone: (620) 343-4600
Highland Community College
P.O. Box 68, Highland, KS 66035
Phone: (785) 442-3236
608 North 18th Street, Kansas City, KS 66102
Phone: (913) 621-8792
Kansas City KS Community College
7250 State Avenue, Kansas City, KS 66112
Phone: (913) 288-7174
Seward County Community College
P.O. Box 1137, Liberal, KS 67905
Phone: (620) 626-3819
Johnson County Community College
10000 West 75th Street, Suite 241, Overland Park, Kansas 66204
Phone: (913) 469-2350